THE SCHWARZENBERG PALACE

The southern outlook of Hradshin Place is dominated by the Renaissance residence of the Schwarzenbergs, formerly Lobkovic Palace, its striking facade and characteristic Czech cornice with deep-set lunettes providing a monumental focus to the panorama of Hradshin palaces and dwellings. It was built between 1545 and 1563 for the younger Jan of Lobkovice by Augustin Vlach, an architect of Italian origin. In 1606 it came into the possession of Petr Vok of Rozmberk and after his death in 1611 it was inherited by the Svamberk family, who lost it by confiscation after the Battle of the White Mountain, when the emperor gave it to the Eggenberg family. The widow of the Iast Eggenberg owner, Marie Arnostka, ne Schwarzenberg, who died in 19, bequeathed the palace to the Schwarzenberg family. With its Italianate courtyard it is a typical Renaissance aristocratic residence. The sgraffito work on the facade was executed in accordance with Italian sketches, completed and restored in 1871 by Josef Schulz and restored again in the 1950s. The interior preserves four rooms on the second floor which have painted panel ceilings portraying themes from ancient mythology and history. Since 1945 the palace is occupied by the museum of military history.